Some comments and instructions in this page are for audio browsers and users who browse this site with screen readers. If you can see this paragraph and you are not using a text-only or screen reader browser, either the style sheet for screen viewing didn't load (if so, click on "refresh" to reload the style sheet), or you need to use a World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) standards-supporting browser that has full XHTML 1.0 Transitional and Strict and cascading style sheet (CSS) level 2 support.

For additional information, see the Accessibility Design and Features page.

Skip navigation

Washington, DC - Baltimore Chapter Archives

Pull browser window out or in to widen or shorten center column line length.

The following is the main content for the page. 

Competition Winners

2012-2013 Technical Communication Summit Awards Winners

STC WDCB 2012-2013 Competitions Best of Show RibbonSTC WDCB 2012-2013 Competitions Winner Ribbon

Congratulations to all the winners in the STC Washington, DC - Metro Baltimore Chapter Summit Technical Communication Competition!

The winners receive their awards at the Competition Awards Celebration and Networking Night on 13 March 2013.

Winners of our local competitions are entitled to display the appropriate STC WDCB Competition Award Ribbons. Download the ribbons to promote your award.

Entry Statistics Award Breakdown
Total entries: 37
Total award winners: 26
Distinguished: 4
(includes 1 Best of Show)
Excellence: 10
(includes 1 Best Student Entry)
Merit: 12

Winners of the 2012-2013 Distinguished Technical Communication Award and the 2012-2013 Excellence Award in the local chapter may go on to the International Technical Communication Summit Awards Competition. Winning entries in that competition are displayed at the annual STC Technical Summit in May.

A gold star marks the winning entries in the International Competition. Six entries from our chapter won STC International Competition awards this year, including the Best of Show! Congratulations to you all.

We are pleased to present the winners for our local competition.

Entry title Contributors Company
Best of Show
From Research to Reality a Missile Defense Agency Technology Applications Report   gold star L. Scott Tillett, Lisa Hylton, Joe Singleton, Joan Zimmermann National Technology Transfer Center (NTTC) - Washington Operations
Best Student Entry
Teknos: The Journal of Science, Mathematics, and Technology Rachel Chuang, Esther Wang, Allison Wang, Zeming Lin, Pali Singh, Melanie Kim, Jacqueline Speiser; Stephanie Melendez Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Distinguished Technical Communication
An entry that wins an award of Distinguished Technical Communication is clearly superior in all areas. The entry contains no major flaws and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly the way that it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience.
Los Alamos National Laboratory External/Public Website   gold star Ann Rafferty, Monika Bittman, Lillian Anaya, James Archuleta, Amethyst Collins, Colleen Curran, AnnMarie Cutler, Cynthia Deschamp, Fred Desousa, Patricia Fierro, Ethan Frogget, Kym Kittell, Leslie Mansell, Cindy Martinez, Korranne Ostic-Randow, Kimberly Powell, Lisa Rosendorf, Connie Russell, Carolyn Spaeth, Tina Thaxton Los Alamos National Laboratory
Alcohol Screening and Brief Intervention for Youth: A Practitioner's Guide Maureen Gardner, Vivian Faden National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
From Research to Reality a Missile Defense Agency Technology Applications Report   gold star L. Scott Tillett, Lisa Hylton, Joe Singleton, Joan Zimmermann National Technology Transfer Center (NTTC) - Washington Operations
Technology at Temple   gold star Marianne Johnston, Robert Frawley, Susan Banka  
An entry that wins an award of Excellence consistently meets high standards in all areas. The entry might contain a single major flaw or a few minor flaws. The entry demonstrates an exceptional understanding of technical communication principles.
"in their words" - 2011 Altarum Institute Annual Report Maria Lischak, Janice Lynch Schuster, Roy Quini, Stephen Gilberg, Barbara Bryant, Debra Foulks Altarum Institute
Clean Energy Ministerial Website Valerie Riedel, Bory Buth, Samantha Solomon, Christine Rabine; Olive Garcia; Dylan Waugh; Mark Mraz; Graham Pugh; US Dept of Energy; Caroline McGregor, US DOE; Konstantin Vishnevsky; Steve Johnson Energetics Incorporated
Replacing the Whole Barrel to Reduce U.S. Dependence on Oil Paget Donnelly; Valerie Reed; Tommi Makila, Alison Goss-Eng, USDOE; Julie Chappell; Leslie Pezzullo, USDOE; Sarah Lynch, USDOE Energetics Incorporated
Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council Annual Update 2012   gold star Katrina Hubbard, Teresa Kowalczyk, Dylan Waugh, Samantha Solomon, Pam Thornton, Fred Hansen, Gareth Williams, Kate Finnerty, Julie Chappell, Alan Snyder Energetics Incorporated
Proceedings of the 2012 Monitoring Research Review: Ground-based Nuclear Explosion Monitoring Techniques Marv Wetovsky Los Alamos National Laboratory
Municipal Wastewater Reuse by Electric Utilities: Best Practices and Future Directions Lindsay Pack; Michael Tinkelman, ASME; Barry Liner, WEF; Ross Brindle Nexight Group
Pictures of the Future   gold star Arthur F. Pease Siemens A.G.
Teknos, The Journal of Science, Mathematics, and Technology George Wang; Tina Ju; Kinsey Moser; John Woodwell, faculty sponsor Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Guide for Effective Corporate and Technical Writing   gold star Rebecca Jung Westinghouse Electric Company
ZE500 Series Power Entry Module and Power Switch Maintenance Kit Installation Instructions Bethany Harker, Jesse Dember Zebra Technologies
An entry that wins a Merit award consistently meets high standards in most areas. The entry might contain a small number of major or minor flaws, but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.
Altarum Institute: An Overview of Initiatives to Promote Health and Wellness Maria Lischak, Barbara Bryant, Roy Quini, Debra Foulks, Kristen Perisino Altarum Institute
Work Center Manager Online Help Mary Saunders, Nancy Mulé, Tiffany Newland American Woodmark Corporation
U.S.-China Clean Energy Research Center Annual Report 2011 Bob Marlay, U.S. Department of Energy; Gareth Williams, Energetics Incorporated; Julie Chappell, Energetics Incorporated; Valerie Riedel, Matt Antes, Dylan Waugh, Pam Thornton; Kristian Kiuru; Teresa Kowalczyk, Jordan Blackman; Tommy Finamore; Samantha Solomon Energetics Incorporated
GFI FAXmaker documentation Jason Micallef, Reuben Borg, Richard Dalli GFI Software Ltd.
Setting Up Kaazing WebSocket Gateway - HTML5 Edition Vanessa Wang, Vivian Schupmann, Peter Lubbers, Michael Cretzman, Peter Cohen Kaazing Corporation
Innovation Impact Report Jared Kosters; Sarah Lichtner; Warren Hunt, TMS; Ross Brindle; Lianne Hepler; Emily Maffett; Lindsay Pack Nexight Group
CSR Flip Book Rachel Mahan, Rhyne Armstrong RouteMatch Software, Inc.
SIMATIC ET 200SP distributed I/O system Gunter Forster Siemens A.G.
COMOS help system Martin Lieneke Siemens A.G.
How to Build a ConOps
The Art of Effective Brainstorming
The Art of Effective Unsolicited Proposals
The Art of Effective Communications
The Art of the Kickoff Meeting
Carl K. Selfe, President, CEO; Sandra M. Wheeles, Production Director; Sarah Walker, Art Director The Proposal Center
Journal of Technical Writing and Communication Charles Sides  
National Cancer Institute Clinical Trials Reporting Program Registration Site User's Guide Lauren Anthone  
Last modified Sunday, 25-Feb-2024

flubbing flounders