Some comments and instructions in this page are for audio browsers and users who browse this site with screen readers. If you can see this paragraph and you are not using a text-only or screen reader browser, either the style sheet for screen viewing didn't load (if so, click on "refresh" to reload the style sheet), or you need to use a World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) standards-supporting browser that has full XHTML 1.0 Transitional and Strict and cascading style sheet (CSS) level 2 support.

For additional information, see the Accessibility Design and Features page.

Skip navigation

Washington, DC - Baltimore Chapter Archives

Pull browser window out or in to widen or shorten center column line length.

The following is the main content for the page. 

International Competition Winners

2010-2011 International Technical Communication Summit Awards Competition Winners

STC International Competitions Best of Show award ribbonSTC International Competition award ribbon for Winner

Congratulations to all the Washington, DC - Baltimore Chapter winners who won awards at the STC International Competition level!

Winners of the 2010-2011 Distinguished Technical Communication Award and the 2010-2011 Excellence Award in the local chapter may go on to the International Technical Communication Summit Awards Competition. Winning entries in that competition are presented at the annual STC Technical Summit in May.

Winners at the international level are entitled to display the STC competition award ribbon.

Entry title Contributors Company
Best of Show
Pictures of the Future Arthur F. Pease Siemens A.G.
SAMHSA Permanent Supportive Housing Toolkit Chandria Jones, Pamela Fisher, Carol Bianco, Westat Graphics and Printing, Advocates for Human Potential, Inc. Westat
Distinguished Technical Communication
An entry that wins an award of Distinguished Technical Communication is clearly superior in all areas. The entry contains no major flaws and few, if any, minor flaws. It applies the principles of technical communication in an outstanding way, particularly the way that it anticipates and fulfills the needs of its audience.
Propane Technology Review Julie Chappell; Propane Education & Research Council; Energetics, Inc.; Roy Willis, PERC; Brian Feehan, PERC; Mark Leitman, PERC; Brandon Robinson, PERC; Greg Kerr, PERC; Ross Brindle, Energetics; Sarah Lichtner, Energetics; Lindsay Pack, Energetics; Emily Maffett, Energetics; Valerie Riedel, Energetics Energetics Incorporated
Reducing Global Threats through Innovative Science and Technology Nancy Ambrosiano, Octavio Ramos, Jr., James M. Cruz Los Alamos National Laboratory
SAMHSA Permanent Supportive Housing Toolkit Chandria Jones, Pamela Fisher, Carol Bianco, Westat Graphics and Printing, Advocates for Human Potential, Inc. Westat
An entry that wins an award of Excellence consistently meets high standards in all areas. The entry might contain a single major flaw or a few minor flaws. The entry demonstrates an exceptional understanding of technical communication principles.
Altarum Institute Annual Report 2009 Liz Ritter, Marijka Lischak, Janice Lynch Schuster Altarum Institute
Tactical Air Control Party-Modernization, Vehicular Communications System, Train the Trainer Course Materials Diane Swift, Heather Brown, PhD, Paul Costen, Michael Anderson Antech Systems, Inc.
2010 Science Highlights TSC Directorate: Theory, Simulation, and Computation Sharon Mikkelson, Susanne King, Kathy Pallis Los Alamos National Laboratory
Plutonium Science and Research Strategy Suki Coonley, Kelly Parker, Ed Lorusso Los Alamos National Laboratory
Building on Our Strengths—The 2009 Missile Defense Agency Technology Applications Report Scott Tillett, Lisa Hylton, NTTC Washington Operations Outreach and Engineering Teams National Technology Transfer Center (NTTC) - Washington Operations
New Frontiers in Characterizing Biological Systems; Report from the May 2009 Workshop Holly Haun; Judy Wyrick; Biological and Environmental Research Information System; Shirley Andrews; Betty Mansfield; Jennifer Bownas; Marissa Mills; Kris Christen; Sheryl Martin; Christopher Caldwell; Anita Alton; Arthur Katz, U.S. Department of Energy; Mitchel Doktycz, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; H. Steven Wiley, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Oak Ridge National Laboratory
An entry that wins a Merit award consistently meets high standards in most areas. The entry might contain a small number of major or minor flaws, but it still applies technical communication principles in a highly proficient manner.
Getting Started: Doing Business with Fannie Mae Jacqueline Austin, William Cragg Fannie Mae
Payoff Calendar Michele McNamara, Phil Corriveau, Kathleen Colliton Fannie Mae
NIH and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) Website Donna Messersmith, Bethany Hoffman, Beth Maloney, Yvonne Bersofsky, Samantha Fox Palladian Partners
U.S. Department of Energy's Bioenergy Research Centers: An Overview of the Science Jennifer Bownas, Judy Wyrick, Biological and Environmental Research Information System, Shirley Andrews, Betty Mansfield, Holly Haun, Marissa Mills, Kris Christen, Sheryl Martin, Christopher Caldwell, Anita Alton Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Last modified Sunday, 25-Feb-2024

flubbing flounders